My Dream Wedding (Well, a possible idea)

Every girl at some point in her life, starts to think about her dream wedding. Since I was 18, I have  thought about it. Ideas have changed of few times, however, this are a few ideas of I would like it to be.

The Engagement Ring:

Before even starting to think about getting married, the engagement ring is the essential beginning to the whole process. Even though the idea has been around for ages, there is in fact an origin: One of the most common theories is that the first engagement ring was given as a down-payment of sorts. This gift was the groom’s way of showing his commitment to financially take care of his future wife. Prior to the nineteenth century, women could not own property and it was common for them to collect pieces of jewelry as an investment for the future. If need be, a woman could sell her jewelry in bad times. Interesting, huh? Well, of course now, it’s to symbolize that you’re planning on marrying someone, not so much a way for the groom to show financial commitment. Though, I’m sure it applies in some way if it’s a really nice ring.

In the United STates and Europe, it is customary for men give their bride-to-be a ring when they propose. However, in some countries, such as Australia, both men and women exchange engagement rings. The symbolism is very important: The engagement ring symbolizes a man’s desire and commitment toward his bride-to-be. The use of diamonds, some of the hardest stones available, indicates the strength of the man’s love.

With the engagement ring explained, here are some possible styles I would like. Despite the style, I prefer a silver or platinum band. Gold only blends in my skin and isn’t as visible.

The meaning of a heart cut is the following:

Heart

The look: This century-old shape, symbolizing love and devotion, should be well proportioned for optimum sparkle. Kid Rock proposed to Pamela Anderson with a yellow heart-shaped diamond.

This choice says you’re: sentimental and dreamy.
 

Image

149610_10151093034183757_2008212074_n 22290_10151123996258757_2086909149_n 395342_10151078212798757_1917634385_n

 The Wedding Ring:

For the wedding, it has to match the engagement ring at least in band color. Of course, some engagement rings come with a wedding band coupled with it. However, if your fiancé gives you a family ring (grandmothers, great grandmothers), it’ll be necessary to go out as a couple to pick out a wedding ring set that satisfies the both of you. Personally, I have yet to think about what wedding ring I want. however, here are some general ideas. Also, if you wish, you can have your bands engraved with a special saying that represents your love.

celtic_knot_wedding_ring_triquetra stock-photo-pair-of-silver-wedding-rings-on-white-linen-focus-on-diamonds-45600703 34128909646960176_Rizoqy32_b

And now, for the part you’ve been waiting for…!

The Wedding Dress:

This I have thought about, however, since I never got the chance to go shopping and I’m not married, I never got to choose one out. Despite that, I do have some ideas of what I would like to wear on my special day. As every girl knows, the choice of what to wear down the aisle is very important. It’s the moment that every girl wants to experience.

Screen Shot 2012-12-05 at 6.23.43 PMI love this dress because of the design and color. Though, I would prefer a light blue instead of red.

Screen Shot 2012-12-05 at 6.28.20 PMThis dress is a ballgown style.  I love this dress because of the lacy sleeves and there is a very intricate design on the bodice and skirt.

Screen Shot 2012-12-05 at 6.36.53 PM Screen Shot 2012-12-05 at 6.36.34 PMThis dress is lovely. I love chiffon and this is just really simple and flowy.

The Wedding Venue:

Now, my family is Catholic so, I have a feeling my mother would like me to get married in a church. And, honestly, I don’t really know where I would have it. I’ve considered a small wedding on a beach. Though, there’s also the Henry Clay Estate  that’s lovely and quaint and has an antique feel.

Random wedding picture

Random wedding picture

The beach possibility:

Banyan-Tree-Mayakoba-photos-Facilities-Beach-Wedding-SetupChurch weddinggg:

Catholic-Wedding

And now, ladies and gentleman…

The Reception:

The reception venue is where you’re finally able to celebrate the fact that you actually got married. Here you get to choose the decorations design, where you want it, and of course music. However, music will be discussed after this. I haven’t even thought of where I would want to hold my reception. Though, again, some ideas:

Ballroom:

Screen Shot 2012-12-05 at 7.07.39 PM Screen Shot 2012-12-05 at 7.07.49 PM

Modern: 

wedding_accessories_and_chair_covers

Now for…

The Music List:

For me, my playlist pretty expansive. It has a mixture of traditional and non traditional songs.

  1. L-O-V-E  sung by Nat King Cole
  2. Beauty and the Beast (from Beauty and the Beast) sung by Angela Lansbury
  3. A Whole New World from Aladdin
  4. Rose’s Theme from The Titanic
  5. Pachelbel’s Cannon in D Major
  6. Stealing Cinderella sung by Chuck Wicks
  7. My Heart Will Go On (from Titanic) sung by Celine Dion
  8. You Raise Me Up (piano)
  9. You Raise Me Up sung by Josh Groban
  10. All I Ask of You (piano)
  11. All I Ask of You from Phantom of the Opera
  12. Unchained Melody (piano)
  13. Unchained Melody sung by The Righteous Brothers
  14. Kiss the Girl (piano)
  15. Kiss the Girl from The Little Mermaid
  16. On My Own (piano)
  17. On My Own from Les Miserables
  18. When I Fall in Love (piano)
  19. When I Fall in Love from Sleepless in Seattle
  20. Marry Me sung by Train
  21. I’ve Just Seen a Face from Across the Universe
  22. Unexpected Song from Song and Dance
  23. Heroe sung by Enrique Iglesias
  24. Here’s to Us Glee Cover
  25. Falling Slowly from Once, sung by Kris Allen
  26. Elephant Love Medley from Moulin Rouge
  27. As Long as You’re Mine from Wicked
  28. Never Far From Me sung by John Garrison
  29. Somewhere from West Side Story
  30. Somewhere over the rainbow (Israel K. tribute)
  31. 100 Years sung by Five for Fighting
  32. A Thousand Years sung by Christina Perri
  33. Penguin Sung by Christina Perri
  34. arms sung by Christina Perri
  35. Love Story (Where do I begin?)  sung by Shirley Bassey
  36. Love Story (piano)

This list is still growing. And some songs may be taken off I find others I enjoy and that who I am. Of course, songs will be added that also fit the man I end up marrying. It would only be fair, especially since the reception is for the couple while the wedding ceremony is for the bride.

Conclusion:

As of now, this is just an idea. I’ve yet to become engaged, much less proposed to. like I said, it’s the proposal and the engagement ring that start the entire process. Without either, there’s not much of a point. Half the reason that I’m even this far is because I was proposed to a year ago and thought I would exactly be married in a years time. Clearly that didn’t happen. Now, I just have to wait for the moment when I will be proposed to.

Until then, I have my dreams and I will stick to them and hopefully they’ll have a chance of coming true. Perhaps with Chad. Perhaps not. So far, he’s promised to make my promises come true which is a huge promise and I honestly have a lot of expectations for it.

Leave a Reply

